Attendance and Truancy
Under Michigan law, the Dearborn Schools District is responsible to inform parents and guardians of of your responsibility for the education of your student. The state law is explained under the following sections:
Every parent, guardian, or other person in the State of Michigan having control and charge of any child between the ages of 6 and 16 years, shall be required to send such child, equipped with the proper textbooks necessary to pursue his or her school work, to the public school during the entire school year, and such attendance shall be continuous and consecutive for the entire school year fixed by the school district in which such child is enrolled.
If a parent or other person in parental relation fails to send a child under his or her control to the public school or other school listed under Section 1561, the attendance officer, upon receiving notice in person or by registered mail to the parent or other person in parental relation requiring the child to appear at the public school or other school on the next regular school day following the receipt of notice, and to continue in regular and consecutive attendance in school.
In case any person, parent, or other person in parental relation shall fail to comply with the provision of this act, he or she shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall on conviction thereof be punished by a fine of not less than $5.00 nor more than $50.00 or imprisonment in the county or city jail for not less than 2 nor more than 90 days, or both such fine and imprisonment at the discretion of the court.
For more information, contact Student Services at (313) 827-3005.