



Contact: David Mustonen, Communications Director (313) 827-3006 <u>MustonD@dearbornschools.org</u> http://communications.dearbornschools.org/

Time To Nominate Your Favorite Teacher!

It's time for students to nominate their favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher for the 2017 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group. The deadline for submitting applications is Thursday, April 6, 2017.

A link to an on-line nomination form can be found on the Districts website (<u>www.dearbornschools.org</u>) or directly at:<u>https://docs.google.com/a/dearbornschools.org/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScwFmdnWSOIAY4tqwaLxY9oQLUmJE0E</u> XNuOZxD8cn2AQuyBuQ/viewform.

Printed nomination forms may be picked up at any Dearborn public school and the district's Administration Office, 18700 Audette. They can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Avenue, Dearborn, MI 48124, or faxed to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary, but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.

Students may nominate new or veteran teachers whom they feel have made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession. Pre-K through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun. Students in this category can include a nice drawing, if they wish, but it will not be part of the selection process. Third through fifth grade students will need to describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun. Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life. Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be successful beyond high school.

"Nominating a teacher for this award is an outstanding way for students to show their teachers how much they appreciate and value the job they are doing in the classroom and the positive impact they have on their life. We have so many excellent teachers who are deserving of this recognition I hope all of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher", commented Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko.

Applications will be assessed on quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers' names. One winner from each category will be announced at a special ceremony being held at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center on May 24, 2017 beginning at 4:15 p.m.

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a \$1,000 cash prize, a glass award commemorating their achievement, and most importantly will be part of a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

"I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again hosting this event," Maleyko added. "Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners."