

Press Release #16/15-16

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 12, 2016

Contact: David Mustonen, Director, Community and Public Relations (313) 827-3006

MustonD@dearbornschool.org





www.dearbornschools.org

## January Is School Board Appreciation Month

## - Board selects new officers at first meeting of 2016

January is School Board Appreciation Month and the Dearborn Public Schools is joining school districts across the state to thank these community members for their enduring dedication to public education.

"In the many different roles I've had in my almost 20 years with the Dearborn Public Schools I have had the pleasure to work with many different Board members and have always appreciated the work they do to serve the students in our classrooms," commented Dr. Glenn Maleyko, Superintendent of the Dearborn Public Schools.

School Board members in Dearborn develop policies and make tough decisions that help shape the future of the district's education system. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of \$170 million, 19,800 students, more than 2,400 employees and 34 buildings in the Dearborn Public Schools. In addition, they oversee Henry Ford College.

This means they must give twice the amount of time to their job as other Board members in the state. They evaluate both the Superintendent and College President, attend twice the number of meetings, and must keep abreast of issues, laws, and legislation impacting both P-12 and the College.

"As a new superintendent I truly appreciate the experience and professionalism they bring to the table. They are very knowledgeable about the workings of our district and the latest issues impacting education," Maleyko added.

The Board began the year with a brief organizational meeting to select new officers. Fifteen year Board veteran Ms. Mary Lane was selected as the new Board President. Trustee Mariam Bazzi was selected as Vice-President. Dr. Michael Meade is the new Board Secretary and Trustee Mary Petlichkoff will take on the duties of Board Treasurer. Board members serve in their officer position for one year and serve on the Board for a term of six years.

Trustee McDonald was commended for her outstanding work as Board President. She was also thanked for her service and putting the needs of the District first by agreeing to serve for only six months rather than the full year. Trustee McDonald was appointed to the position mid-year when then Board President Aimee Schoelles resigned from the Board for personal reasons.



Press Release #16/15-16 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 12, 2016

"The community is very fortunate to have these seven outstanding individuals working for them as Board of Education Trustees. They are genuinely concerned about the children in our classrooms and are able to work together for the betterment of our students," said Superintendent Maleyko.

School Board members serving the students in the Dearborn Public Schools are:

	Term	Years of	Year
	Expires	Service	Started
Trustee Joseph Guido	12-31-16	22	Jan. 1994
Trustee Mary Lane	12-31-18	15*	Jan. 2000
Trustee Mary Petlichkoff	12-31-20	5**	Jan. 2007
Trustee Roxanne McDonald	12-31-16	4	Jan. 2012
Trustee Mariam Bazzi	12-31-20	1	Jan. 2015
Trustee Dr. Michael Meade	12-31-20	1	Jan. 2015
Trustee Fadwa Hammoud	11-08-16	Newly Appointed	July 2015

<sup>\*</sup> Did not serve on the Board in 2008

The Dearborn Board of Education, and the hundreds like it across the state, preserves the core of the United States' democracy, public education. They ensure that decisions on school programming are made by people elected to represent the community's values, culture and circumstances. They are citizens whose decisions affect students and build the local community.

## Photo Captions

**PR16** Brd Appr 1- The 2016 Dearborn Board of Education- From left to right- Trustee Hammoud, Trustee Bazzi, Trustee Meade, Trustee McDonald, Trustee Petlichkoff, Board President Lane and Superintendent Maleyko.

**PR16 Brd Appr 2-** Superintendent Maleyko (left) and College President Jensen present Trustee McDonald with the gavel she used during her term as Board President.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Served on Board from Jan. 2007 - Dec. 2010