- Board selects new officers at first meeting of 2017 

Board of Ed

The 2017 Dearborn Board of Education- From left to right-
Trustee Berry, Trustee Thorpe, Trustee Petlichkoff, Trustee Lane, Trustee Bazzi, Trustee Hammoud, Superintendent Maleyko.(not pictured Dr. Michael Meade)


As part of School Board Recognition Month, Superintendent Dr. Glenn Maleyko took time at the January 9, 2017 School Board meeting to thank the Trustees for their service to the community.

“As Superintendent I truly appreciate the experience and professionalism this group of Trustee’s bring to the table. They are very knowledgeable about the workings of our district and the latest issues impacting education,” commented Maleyko.

School Board members in Dearborn develop policies and make tough decisions that help shape the future of instruction in the District. They bear responsibility for the third largest district in the State of Michigan with an annual budget of more than $170 million, an enrollment of 20,710 students, and employs 2,400 staff members working in 34 buildings.

In addition, trustees that serve on the Board are the only school board trustees in the state that also serve as trustees for Henry Ford College. This dual responsibility means trustees spend twice the amount of time dedicated to serving the community. They evaluate both the Superintendent and College President, attend twice the number of meetings, and must keep abreast of issues, laws, and legislation impacting both P-12 and the College.

At the Board meeting Superintendent Maleyko commented, “I enjoyed working with the Board this year on developing the District’s strategic plan, my superintendent goals, and the general direction our District is headed for this year and beyond.”

The Board began the year with a brief organizational meeting to select new officers. Trustee Mariam Bazzi was selected as President and Dr. Michael Meade will take on the responsibilities of Vice-President. Six year Board veteran Mary Petlichkoff will take on the duties of Board Secretary and returning trustee Mr. Hussein Berry will serve as Treasurer.

School Board members serving the students in the Dearborn Public Schools are:
Trustee Mariam Bazzi
Trustee Hussein Berry
Trustee Fadwa Hammoud
Trustee Mary Lane
Trustee Michael Meade
Trustee Mary Petlichkoff
Trustee Jim Thorpe

PR14 Brd Appr 2Superintendent Maleyko (left) presents Trustee Lane with a ceremonial gavel to commemorate her term as Board President.

The Dearborn Board of Education, and the hundreds like it across the state, preserves the core of the United States’ democracy, public education. They ensure that decisions on school programming are made by people elected to represent the community’s values, culture and circumstances. They are citizens whose decisions affect students and build the local community.

From the blogs...