BTOSSchool Zone Safety is our Priority

The Dearborn Police Department, along with the City of Dearborn, and Dearborn Public Schools is working to keep our schools safe. However, we need your help!

It is important for everyone to be cautious when driving near schools or dropping off students. Please read this helpful letter from Dearborn Police Chief Haddad and Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Maleyko for some tips that will make the driving experience around schools safer for everyone!

>> Download the School Zone Safety Letter <<

Budget Reporting and Transparency
Michigan School Data Dashboard
Firstbell District News Logo

Teacher Websites
School Websites
Check your child's grades, attendance, and lunch account
Check your class grades
Contact information for schools, administration, staff
Join the team! Apply for a job in Dearborn Public Schools

Board Positions

  • Michael Meade, president
  • Mary Petlichkoff, vice president
  • Hussein Berry, secretary
  • Fadwa Hammoud, treasurer
  • James Thorpe, trustee
  • Mary Lane, trustee
  • Celia Nasser, trustee

Board Videos

View video gallery

Board Meeting Video Archive (Pre-Youtube Archives)

Please note: These are archive videos.
All new Board Meeting videos will be on Youtube.

Board Member Profiles


Hussein Berryh berry
Mr. Berry returns to the Board of Education after serving from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2014. As a Board member, he was part of the team that developed and successfully passed a $76 million SMART Bond proposal. These funds allowed the district to upgrade security, enhance technology, purchase new busses, add on to several schools, and renovate all other schools in the district. Mr. Berry is a long standing and respected member of the Dearborn Community. He has been involved in several local organizations and is active in promoting and running a youth sports program in the city.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Fadwa Hammoud
Fadwa HammoudMs. Hammoud is a 2003 graduate of Fordson High School, earned her undergraduate degree from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, her law degree from Wayne State University, and is currently a Wayne County Assistant Prosecuting Attorney. Ms. Hammoud has always strived to go above and beyond and serve her community. While a student at Fordson she served as President of the Key Club and Senior Class, took part in several school clubs and activities, and was awarded “Most Active Student” by the National Honor Society. Her energy and enthusiasm for staying involved in local organizations has remained active throughout her adult life serving as a Board member for the Government BAR Association and at the Islamic Center of America. Fadwa is the Election Day Chair for the American Arab Political Action Committee (AAPAC) an organization she has been a part of for ten years. She is a volunteer attorney for the Woman Lawyers Association of Michigan, and a member of the Lebanese International Business Council.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mary Lane
Lane-WebMary Lane has served 16 years on the Board of Education and Henry Ford College, Board of Trustees, having been first elected in November 1999. In her work life, Mary is Project Director at The Welcome Mat Detroit, a Kellogg Foundation funded project of Global Detroit. She has worked for more than 30 years with immigrants and internationals. Ms. Lane holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree from the University of Michigan Honors College. She also has had post-graduate training in immigration law at the Detroit College of Law. Mary notes that her family have long been educators and this compelled her service volunteering with schools. Mary’s sons and daughter, Tarik, Adam and Nadia, all attended the Dearborn Public Schools. Ms. Lane is currently researching and writing a book on legal, religious, and military cases from 1740-1760's in New England.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(John) Michael Meade, Ph.D.
Mike MeadeMichael Meade is serving his first six-year term on the board. He received a doctorate and a master’s in guidance and counseling from the Catholic University of America. Michael has served in a variety of leadership roles in the educational community, notably serving one year as Acting President and 23 years as Vice President of Student Services at Henry Ford College, and seven years as Dean of Student Services for Montgomery College in Rockville, Maryland. He has taught as an Adjunct Faculty member at Davenport University, University of Michigan-Dearborn, and George Mason University. Michael has been active in representing the educational, social, and business needs of southeastern Michigan, serving in a variety of roles with Sacred Heart Seminary, the Southern Wayne Chamber of Commerce, the Southeastern Michigan Council of Governments, the Exchange Club, and an educational task force with the Dearborn Public Schools and the City of Dearborn.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mary Petlichkoff
Petlichkoff-WebMary Petlichkoff previously served for four years on the Board and has returned to serve a six-year term ending on December 31, 2020. She is a long time member of the City Beautiful Commission and is President of the Dearborn Federation of Neighborhood Associations. Mary has been active for many years with the Dearborn Public Schools as a parent and member of the PTA Council.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

James ThorpeJamesThorpe
Mr. Thorpe is a lifelong Dearborn resident and graduate of Dearborn High. He began his first term as a Board Trustee on December 12, 2016. His term expires December 31, 2018. Mr. Thorpe works as a Financial Advisor for Ameriprise located in Dearborn for more than 15 years. He is active in several community organizations, including serving as Chairman of Dearborn Chamber of Commerce and President of the Dearborn Rotary Club. Mr. Thorpe has also served the district on the Dearborn Education Foundation, strategic planning, and the curriculum council. He is the father of two Dearborn Public Schools students and was vice president of the Lindbergh Elementary School PTA.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Celia NasserCelia Nasser
Celia Nasser was appointed as a Trustee on June 19, 2017, to finish a term on the board that expires on the date of the general election on Nov. 6, 2018. She replaced Mariam Bazzi who resigned upon being appointed judge for the Wayne County Circuit Court. An alumna of Fordson High School, Ms. Nasser holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration/management from University of Michigan-Dearborn and a Masters in Public Health (MPH) from the University of Arizona. She is the owner of two successful small businesses – Yogurttown and Modern Advertising. In addition, she has served as a substitute teacher in the Dearborn Public Schools. Previously, Ms. Nasser held a variety of professional positions including developing a fitness program for youth at HYPE Athletics of Dearborn Heights.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Featured Programs

View all of our outstanding programs and opportunities for your child.

For parents/children 6 months to four years of age
Find out more about the STEM program for Middle School
Enroll your child in a unique five year early college program!